Graduate Council Meeting Minutes

140 Toomey Hall 12:00pm Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Present: U. Koylu, J. Winiarz, V. Allada (for R. Marley), S. Matson, J. Hemenway, A. Neckermann, A. Kossuth, K. Wagner, N. Balakrishnan, G. Hilmas (for J. Newkirk), C. Mendoza, P. Worsey, F. Nah (for B. Flachsbart), F. Liou (for J. Rovey), M. Insall, A. Alajo, N. Weidner, I. Morgan, S. Anandan

Not Present: J. Semon, P. Neogi, W. Jiang, CS Kim, M. Davis, D. Wright, S. Corns, L. Gertsch, W. Yang, M. Meagher, M. Schulz, B. Bai, C. Dagli

Chair Umit Koylu called the meeting to order, 12:00 pm

- 1. Roll call-J. Winiarz
- 2. Introduction of new officers
 - a. Graduate Faculty President Umit Koylu
 - b. Graduate Faculty Secretary Jeffery Winiarz
 - c. Graduate Faculty Parliamentarian Ali Hurson
- 3. Graduate Faculty Representatives for Faculty Senate Committees were announced
- 4. PhD students with 2nd MS interests
 - a. The wording "The total number of MS credits included on the PhD program of study cannot exceed 30 credit hours." was replaced with "Courses listed on a doctoral program of study (Form 5) cannot be listed/or have been listed on a program of study (Form 1) for a second, or subsequent master's degree" in the section "Proposed Program of Study for the Ph.D."
 - b. Motion to approve: Weidner; second: Worsey; approved
- 5. Policy II-20 Clarifications
 - a. Recommend Chancellor's Office make the suggested changes
 - b. Motion to approve: Weidner; second: Insall; approved
- 6. New Business
 - a. A suggestion was made to review membership forms with regard to Associate Membership

Meeting adjourned by Chair Koylu, 12:46pm